Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Viability of cheap VHS capture
(2018-04-17, 11:39 PM)captainsolo Wrote: I found a nice quasi-pro Sony unit with hifi but it seems i always get occasional tics and slight noise when playing back anything. My only other deck is an old GE which is fine but is only mono.

I have to check the serial number but I know my GE is from 1999.
Reply
Thanks given by:
So after some searching I found a used JVC S7800U VCR. It has a built in TBC, video stabilizer, and S-Video inputs. I’ll do some test captures when it arrives and report back. Wink
Reply
Thanks given by:
So I got the VCR and while I am still tinkering with it I’m a bit disappointed because image wise this is softer than the General Electric VCR I’ve been using. Maybe that’ll just have to be my compromise if using S-VIDEO eliminates the glitches.
Reply
Thanks given by:
So I went to a Panasonic AG-1970. The quality was worse on that than the JVC. It had a good TBC option but image quality was terrible. So I’ve come to a conclusion. SVCR’s SUCK! Going back to composite and doing a test capture on the Panasonic I used to have in the living room.
Reply
Thanks given by:
Well my capturing is gonna have to be postponed indefinitely. Now my main VCR is acting up. I push play and the screen goes black regardless of what tape I play yet if I push stop I get the blue screen like I should. Bizarre.
Reply
Thanks given by:
So last week I stumbled on these videos by chance which inspired me to try perhaps doing captures using the DVD recorder.

https://youtu.be/TdxQ6ioKyzs

https://youtu.be/1ZYsb_7poJw

As the second video shows using the DVD recorder will not record tapes encoded with Macrovision unless you have a stabilizer box. Bought one of those stabilizers for $45, came in the mail today, and sad to report it did not work when I tried recording with my Panasonic ES15. The setup was correct and I still got a video signal on the TV so I know the connection works but the video would not record. So much for that I guess.
Reply
Thanks given by:
I have a Prospec DVE image stabilizer model from Japan that has S-video, paid like $100 for it 10 years ago. Ironically I ended up using it for only a handful of tapes, most of the VHS tapes I own are from Japan and usually don't have Macrovision.
Reply
Thanks given by:


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Cheap and quick LD capture method captainsolo 5 192 2018-12-10, 06:39 AM
Last Post: bronan
  Sync problems during analog capture? BusterD 6 336 2018-12-07, 06:52 PM
Last Post: BusterD
  Laserdisc capture - general thread willie1959 40 3,767 2018-12-07, 06:09 PM
Last Post: BusterD
  LD AC-3 Capture Help Phobicpanda 15 914 2018-08-29, 07:49 PM
Last Post: schorman
  Locations List of people willing to assist with bit-perfect LD audio capture jerryshadoe 31 9,865 2018-07-29, 04:28 PM
Last Post: alexpeden2000
  Anybody here able to capture DTheater/D-VHS? TomArrow 13 2,461 2018-07-17, 07:53 PM
Last Post: dwalkerdon
  SUCCESS: UHD/4K DVB capture without compatible hardware disco4000 7 806 2018-04-12, 08:12 PM
Last Post: Dr. Cooper
Exclamation High-end audio capture cards spoRv 8 3,700 2018-02-23, 04:25 AM
Last Post: bronan
Exclamation High-end video capture cards spoRv 28 11,795 2017-05-25, 09:57 AM
Last Post: althor1138
  2 capture of same source, not in sync? Chris Solo 7 2,236 2017-03-06, 04:20 AM
Last Post: jerryshadoe

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)